“But I’m not Fashion”


I was having lunch with my friend Lisa, because of my recent step up in the world and the landing of a job in the Fashion industry, she asked me what were the three pieces I would buy this winter.

I gave her the list that is below, and saw her reaction, at the word ‘cape’. She looked almost frightened.

I went on to tell her that it was really fashionable this winter, that it was already starting last year and that it was quite a safe bet for the winter.

I then went on to tell her about the shearling biker vests, her face dropped.

When I asked her what was wrong she said “But, I’m not fashion, I’m not cool. I just want to be well dressed”

Well dressed, I believe just like beauty, the is in the eyes of the owner. If you believe the shearling biker jacket is cool and a perfectly acceptable piece to wear in the middle of the day, believe me, you will convince everyone around you that it is.

I believe that to make some eccentric piece acceptable, you need to wear them as if you were wearing your favourite old pair of jeans. Anything will go if you are confident about it. It is all about attitude and how you feel. Any safe choice will look out of place if the wearer looks uncomfortable in it.

I think that I look so not at ease in those uniforms people put on like the suit, or conventional clothes that I look very out of place in them. I like classic clothes, but I always feel the need to throw some golden runners in for the fun or at least a crazy nail polish. The few times I had to wear a business suit for job interviews, I thought I was gonna die of boredom and of uneasiness. I felt so odd and unlike myself.

I don’t think there is a well dressed as such, some people look fantastic in tracksuits when they know how to work them.

This entry was published on 11/08/2011 at 5:59 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

